Office of Research

Previous Spotlights

February 13, 2017
2016 ACES faculty awards and recognitions
The College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences at the University of Illinois has award-winning faculty in all of its departments. These faculty are recognized for their excellence in teaching, research, outreach, and service at the university level as well as on the national and international stages.
November 9, 2016
ACES Dean Kidwell named Fellow in CSSA
ACES Dean Kidwell named Fellow in Crop Science Society of America
November 9, 2016
Kelly Swanson named Kraft Foods Human Nutrition Endowed Professor
Animal Sciences Professor Kelly Swanson has been selected as the next Kraft Foods Human Nutrition Endowed Professor.
October 24, 2016
HDFS is in the news
HDFS graduate student, Jacyln Saltzman receives award
September 20, 2016
Barbara Fiese receives award from APA Society
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) Society for Couple and Family Psychology awarded Dr. Barbara Fiese, a professor in the Department of Human Development and Family Studies, with the Distinguished Contribution to Family Psychology Award.
September 14, 2016
HDFS researcher Gail Ferguson receives grant
Dr. Gail Ferguson, an Assistant Professor in the Department of Human Development and Family Studies and her colleagues received an NIH R21 grant to support their work, “Promoting Healthy Eating Habits in Jamaican Schools through Food-Focused U.S. Media Literacy.”
May 18, 2016
NASA Career Award
Kaiyu Guan receives NASA career award in the New (Early Career) Investigator Program in Earth Science.
February 11, 2016
Congratulations to Dr. George Fahey
George Fahey was selected as a member of the American Society for Nutrition Fellows Class of 2016!
January 19, 2016
Ramona F. Oswald named 2015 NCFR Fellow
The National Council on Family Relations (NCFR) has conferred its prestigious Fellow status on Ramona F. Oswald, professor of family studies in the Department of Human Development and Family Studies at the University of Illinois and the director of graduate studies.
August 26, 2015
Gray named honorary member of entomological society
University of Illinois entomologist Michael Gray was recently named an honorary member of the Entomological Society of America (ESA). Membership acknowledges those who have served ESA for at least 20 years through significant involvement in the affairs of the society that has reached an extraordinary level. Gray is a professor and assistant dean in the Department of Crop Sciences and Extension at U of I. He is internationally recognized for his research and extension programs on management of the western corn rootworm.
July 16, 2015
Neal Merchen named ASAS Fellow in Administration
Neal Merchen, Associate Dean for Research and the Director of the Experiment Station in the College of ACES, has been named a Fellow in the administration category of the American Society of Animal Science.
June 30, 2015
Laurie Kramer honored with top NACTA award
Dr. Laurie Kramer of the College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences (ACES), University of Illinois, has received international recognition for meritorious service to higher education. She was presented the 2015 Distinguished Educator Award, a premier honor bestowed by the North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture (NACTA) organization.
June 8, 2015
Congratulations to Hans Stein!
Animal Sciences researcher Hans Stein won the DSM Nutritional Sciences Award which was presented at the 13th Symposium on Digestive Physiology in Pigs, Kliczków, Polan on May 19. This lifetime achievement award honors scientific discovery that has significantly contributed to improving animal nutrition and health through innovative concepts and more sustainable animal farming. For the complete story, visit
February 19, 2015
Bryan White Elected to Fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology
January 29, 2015
2015 Research Academy
The 2014 graduates received their certificates and the 2015 ACES Research Academy members were introduced on Jan. 29, 2015.
October 30, 2014
Diers Named 2014 Crop Science Society of America Fellow
October 30, 2014
Bollero Named 2014 ASA & CSSA Fellow
March 31, 2014
Book Award
New book by HCD's Brian Ogolsky has won an award.
March 13, 2014
Meet Yuji Arai of the Dept. of Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences
Yuji received a Ph.D. in environmental soil chemistry from the University of Delaware.
March 13, 2014
Meet Megan Dailey in the Dept. of Animal Sciences
Megan received her Ph.D. in behavioral neuroscience from Georgia State University.
March 13, 2014
Qualtrics Lunch-and-Learn
Come learn more about Qualtrics, a great survey tool newly available to all students, faculty, and staff in the College of ACES!
May 22, 2013
Congratulations to Dr. Prasanta Kalita
Prasanta Kalita was honored at the 2013 American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) International Meeting as an ASABE Fellow.
May 22, 2013
Meet Michael Ward
Michael Ward teaches fish and wildlife ecology, introduction to wildlife ecology and conservation, and wildlife ecology and ag policy in the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences.
May 22, 2013
Meet Brian Ogolsky
Brian Ogolsky teaches courses in research methods, advanced statistics, and family theories for the Department of Human and Community Development.
January 14, 2013
Paul Ellinger was accepted for the Food Systems Leadership Institute (FSLI), an executive leadership development program for academia, industry, and government.
January 4, 2012
Stephen Long will serve as project director on a five–year, $25-million grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation to improve the photosynthetic properties of key food crops, with Don Ort serving as Associate Director. Illinois research will take place at the Institute for Genomic Biology.
January 4, 2012
Crop sciences researchers Lisa Ainsworth and Andrew Leakey have received a five-year, $5.7 million grant from the National Science Foundation through the Institute of Genomic Biology to develop ozone-resistant corn.